×

Know Your Athletes- Harleen Kaur Deol, Indian Women Cricketer

Published : Apr 21, 2020
  • 4 mins read
  • Updated On : Aug 08, 2022

    Harleen Deol indian cricketer, one of the most promising all-rounders of India, began her cricketing career at mere age 0f 8, and since then there was no turning back. She used to play with her brother, but after his brother went for higher studies, she was the only girl left among other boys. Negativity in the air rose enormously since a girl playing cricket wasn’t desirable back then.

    However, Harleen and her parents were determined, which led them to shift to Himachal Pradesh from Punjab so as to get the most of the opportunities in cricket. With dedication and hard work, she got into India A. Both Harleen and ace skipper Mithali Raj shared the same jersey number.

    Fast&Up Harleen Kaur Deol, Indian Women Cricket


    Fast&Up India had a fun interaction with her, and here’s all you need to know about the cheerful, fun-loving and hardworking cricketer Harleen Kaur Deol!

    Earliest memory of sports- when I started to play gully cricket

    What exactly made you get into cricket?
    I used to play with the boys in Punjab. Because of my brother, I started playing cricket. Not only Cricket, I used to play Football, Hockey and Basketball too. But, later on, I decided to continue cricket only. So, that’s how I got into this game.

    You have played in India A team, what do you think what is needed more to be selected in the national team?
    You need to perform at that platform. That only makes you select for the India team. And you need to be more consistent by scoring runs or helping to the wins of your team.

    Do you recall any interesting stories related to you by any of your elder relatives that you have never forgotten and you think are worth telling to this audience?
    when one of my uncles use to question my playing by saying that as a hobby it’s fine but focus on ur studies and I always wanted to prove myself to them. And now they are the same person who listens to my interviews and call me to say well done beta we are proud of you.

    Who was the most influential person as a child: My mother

    Nicknames: Harry

    What were you most afraid of as a child: I was a brave child, afraid of nothing

    Your Favourite subject during your school times: chemistry

    How did you balanced between sports and studies- usually ever since class 4 I was a part of every school team and before the final exams just had a few days to cover up the syllabus. So had no option.

    What did you liked the most about school: that we had an option to play sports

    What did you liked the least about school: that I have to study

    What sort of after school/out of school clubs did you attend: None

    Was there someone you really looked up to when you were a teenager: Bret Lee

    What was your favourite music/band in high school: Gurdas Mann

    What would people you know find surprising about you as a teen: People were surprised when they came to know that I want to be a professional cricketer.

    Did you ever thought of doing a 9 to 5 job: - NO

    What would be your ideal job if you ever had to be: would love to be a pilot

    Describe about your sporting career: it has recently started and has a long way to go.

    Your best day in life: when I got my India cap from Jhulan Goswami

    What is your definition of “happiness”: Happiness for me are the people around me.

    What is your most memorable Sporting experience: in MCG in front of 86000 people

    What is the funniest thing that’s ever happened to you: I am the prankster so all the funny things happen to other people around me.

    What accomplishment are you most proud of: ODI cap-126, T20 cap-62

    What accomplishment are you most proud of: People should remember me for the person I am and not for a cricketer

    Biggest fan of- cricket: MS Dhoni

    Others: Ronaldo and Messi

    What do you like to do in your spare time: Netflix and chill

    If you could possess one super-human power, what would it be: be invisible and spy on other

    What is your greatest fear: losing my loved ones

    What is your greatest hope you live by: getting my hands on the World Cup trophy.

    What are the main lessons you’ve learned in life: All dreams come true if we have the courage to pursue them. Enjoy the process, know that this takes time, and just be committed to doing your best each day.

    How are you off the field: I am a very joyful and funny person.

    Favourite Food: I like ‘ghar ka khana’ only (Homemade food). Especially chicken and my mother’s chilli paneer.

    Favourite Book: You Can Win by Shiv Khera.

    Favourite Pastime: I watch movies

    Favourite Actor: Ranveer Singh

    Best Friend in the team: I have many. Jemimah Rodrigues, in the state team it’s Shivani Thakur, Sushma di (Sushma Verma) and Nikita Chauhan. Other than these, Inayat, Ravneet and Amanat. I always hang out with them whenever I am in town.

    Which cricketer comes to your mind hearing these words!
    Aggressive:
    Virat Kohli
    Cool: MS Dhoni
    Introvert: Mithali Raj
    Foodie: Nikita Chauhan (Himachal team)
    Style Icon: Veda Krishnamurthy

    Shaista Khan
    Sports and Fitness

    Shaista is passionate about anything related to sports and fitness. She has worked with many athletes and has in-depth knowledge about their training and nutrition. She is very particular about the... Read More

    Featured in

    FREE SHIPPING

    Free Nationwide Shipping and Returns on Orders above Rs. 1250/-

    CUSTOMER SERVICE

    Available Monday - Saturday
    From 9:30AM - 6:30PM

    SECURE PAYMENT

    Your Payment Information is Processed Securely

    CONTACT US

    [email protected]
    1800-120-9656