Fastandup Logo

IPL 2021: Full list of replacement players for each franchise for the UAE leg

Published : Sep 19, 2021 2 mins read Updated On : Jan 05, 2024

Only MI & CSK haven’t announced any replacements

IPL 2021 Halfway Stage

As the Indian Premier League hits the restart button, many teams had to do mid-season shopping due to several foreign players opting out of the tournament and many others nursing an injury. Almost all IPL teams have announced some replacements with RCB and RR replacing the most while CSK and MI having no replacements. Let us look at the list of players who will not be available for the IPL’s second leg and the new player signings who will replace them in their respective teams.

Delhi Capitals

The table toppers, DC have two replacements. Ben Dwarshius replaces Chris Woakes who opted out of the tournament and Kulwant Khejroliya, left-arm medium pacer replaces injured Siddharth Manimaran.

Chennai Super Kings

Although, CSK don’t have any replacements, they will be delighted by the return of star Australian pacer Josh Hazelwood. 
Chennai Super Kings - Replacement Players

Royal Challengers Bangalore

RCB have announced as many as 5 replacements to their squad. Sri Lankan duo of Wanindu Hasaranga and Dushmantha Chameera have replaced Adam Zampa and Daniel Sams respectively. While, RCB have roped in hard-hitting batsman Tim David and English all-rounder George Garton in place of Finn Allen and Kane Richardson respectively. Washington Sundar’s injury came as the big blow to the franchise and subsequently they named pacer Akash Deep as his replacement.

Mumbai Indians

The MI-paltan has no changes in their squad and this comes as a major boost to their chances of completing the treble title wins.

Punjab Kings

The Punjab franchise have named replacements for Australian pace duo of Jhye Richardson and Riley Meredith and no.1 T20I batsman Dawid Malan, after he recently expressed his wish to not participate in the latter half of IPL 2021. The replacements named include Australian fast bowler Nathan Ellis, England’s leg-spinner Adil Rashid and South African batsman Aiden Markram.

Rajasthan Royals

After RCB, RR have named the most number of replacements with as many as four changes to their squad. The West Indian duo of Ewin Lewis and Oshane Thomas will replace English batsman Jos Buttler & all-rounder Ben Stokes, both opting out for mental health reasons. The no.1 T20I bowler, Tabraiz Shamsi, will replace Andrew Tye while Glenn Phillips from New Zealand comes in place of Jofra Archer. 
Rajasthan Royals - Replacement Players

Kolkata Knight Riders

KKR have a solitary change in their squad. Their star Australian all-rounder Pat Cummins had earlier stated that he won’t be a part of rescheduled IPL and accordingly, Tim Southee from New Zealand was named his replacement.

Sunrisers Hyderabad

SRH will enjoy the services of most of their foreign recruits as only England’s wicket keeper batsman Jonny Bairstow has pulled out of the tournament. Sherfane Rutherford, the hard-hitting West Indian all-rounder will replace him in the UAE leg.
Full List of Replacements for All IPL Teams – (Total 16 players have been replaced until now.)
IPL 2021: Full list of replacement players for each franchise for the UAE leg

Neel Visaria
Neel Visaria
Health and Fitness

Neel is an expert blogger who just loves writing about health and fitness. He makes sure that his blogs are fun to read but also informative. Neel is committed to spread awareness through his blogs... Read More

Featured in