T20 World Cup 2021 Host Country, Start Date, Venue and Teams

T20 World Cup 2021 Host Country, Start Date, Venue and Teams

T20 World Cup 2021 Host Country, Start Date

Men’s T20 World Cup, one of the most awaited cricket tournament will be back after five years. Last Cricket T20 World Cup was played in India in 2016 where West Indies emerged as the champions. India will be host country though no matches will be played in the country. 50-over World Champions England, the T20 defending champs West Indies, host India and Pakistan look favorites to be crowned as World Champions, however, World Test Champions New Zealand can be another team to watch out for.

Host Country

India is the host country for ICC T20 World Cup 2021 but none of the matches will be played in India. Instead, UAE (United Arab Emirates) & Oman will together host all the matches including the Qualifier matches to be played before the tournament begins. UAE is currently hosting IPL, did it last year too, and has successfully managed to keep covid risk at bay, which comes as a big relief to ICC and BCCI as they can go ahead with the World Cup with positive spirit.

Start and End Date

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup will kick start from 23rd October 2021 in UAE where Australia will play against South Africa in the opening fixture. The last match of the Super 12 stage will be held on 8th November between India and A2 qualified team. But before the World Cup matches begin, there will be a Qualifier tournament that will be played between eight teams from 17 to 23 October and four out these 8 teams will qualify for Super 12 stage. 

T20 World Cup 2021 Host Country, Start Date & Venue

Also Read: Which Team will Win IPL 2021? Squad Analysis.


The T20 World Cup Venue 2021 includes 4 stadiums, three in UAE and 1 in Oman. Dubai International Stadium, Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi and Sharjah Stadium from UAE will host all the world cup matches along with Oman Cricket Academy Stadium. Abu Dhabi will host the first match of the tournament and finals will be played in Dubai Stadium. Total of 33 matches will be hosted by the four stadiums including the semi-finals and the final.


8 teams will play the Qualifier round. They are divided into two groups of four each and top-2 teams from each group will qualify for Super-12. The Super-12 teams are again divided into two groups of 6 each where 4 teams are fixed and rest two places in each group will be occupied by the qualifying teams.

Group A (Qualifier) – Ireland, Namibia, Netherlands and Sri Lanka
Group B (Qualifier) – Bangladesh, Oman, Papua New Guinea and Scotland
Super 12 Group 1 – Australia, South Africa, West Indies, England, A1 & B2
Super 12 Group 2 – India, Pakistan, New Zealand, Afghanistan, A2 & B1

Read Next: Nutrition for Cricketers.

To know more about World T20 2021, visit – www.fastandup.in

Neel Visaria

-Expert and Writer

promational banner

Shop worth Rs.3000 and get a Protein Shaker FREE

Shop worth Rs.3000 and get a Protein Shaker FREE