T20 World Cup 2021 Groups List

Published : Oct 20, 2021
  • 0 mins read
  • Updated On : Jul 27, 2022

    12 teams are divided into two groups of 6 each

    T20 World Cup 2021 Groups List

    The ICC T20 World Cup 2021 will be held in UAE and Oman from October 17 to November 14. Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) is hosting the event and the matches are being played in four stadiums across Oman and United Arab Emirates.

    The Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 in divided into two stages. The first stage is the Qualifier stage where eight teams will play for four available slots in the next stage. These teams are divided into 2-groups of 4 each. Host Oman will take on Papua New Guinea (PNG) in the first match of the round. Bangladesh and Scotland are other two teams in their group. Winners of 2012 T20 World Cup - Sri Lanka, Ireland, Netherlands and world cup debutants – Namibia are in a group together.

    Round 1 –

    Group A – Oman, Bangladesh, Scotland and PNG

    Group B – Namibia, Sri Lanka, Ireland and Netherlands.

    List of ICC Men's T20 World Cup Winners (2007-2021)

    The next stage of WT20 2021 is known as the Super 12 stage. Here top-12 teams are split into two groups of six each. Defending champions West Indies are in the group with current ODI World Champions England, South Africa and Australia. While arch rivals India and Pakistan are joined by New Zealand and Afghanistan in another group. These groups were formed based on ICC T20 Rankings as on 20th March, 2021. The winners of qualifier round will fill the remaining two spots.

    Super 12 Group 1 – England, Australia, South Africa, West Indies, A1 and B2.

    Super 12 Group 2 – Afghanistan, New Zealand, India, Pakistan, A2 and B1.

    At the time of announcement of the group, Jay Shah (BCCI Secretary) spoke to the media, he said: “With the announcement of groupings, our countdown for the ICC T20 World Cup kick starts. There is nothing that separates the two groups as both are packed with sides that are highly competitive in the shortest format of the game. Having said that, the exciting T20 format is known for its surprises, and we must be prepared for the same. I am sure we will witness some exciting and nail-biting games.”

    The top-2 ranked teams from each group will then move to the next round to play semifinals and the winners of those matches will play the final and at the end, one team will emerge as ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 Champions.

    Read Next – T20 World Cup 2021 Host Country, Start Date, Venue and Teams

    Neel Visaria
    Health and Fitness

    Neel is an expert blogger who just loves writing about health and fitness. He makes sure that his blogs are fun to read but also informative. Neel is committed to spread awareness through his blogs... Read More

    Featured in


    Free Nationwide Shipping and Returns on Orders above Rs. 1250/-


    Available Monday - Saturday
    From 9:30AM - 6:30PM


    Your Payment Information is Processed Securely


    [email protected]