Fastandup Logo

IPL 2021 – Team of the Tournament

Published : Oct 13, 2021 3 mins read Updated On : Jul 27, 2022

14th Edition of the League was all about Indian Talent

IPL 2021 – Team of the Tournament

Indian Premier League 2021 is now nearing the end with all the league games getting over by 9 October 2021. DC, CSK, RCB & KKR are the four teams that have qualified for the playoff stages. There were many standout performers throughout the tournament but only few names could be included in the best playing 11 of IPL. After analyzing the runs scored, wickets taken, economy and strike rates, we have put together the Team of the Tournament for IPL 2021 –

  • Openers – Ruturaj & Faf du Plessis

One of the major reason behind CSK’s turnaround from a forgettable 2020 season has been its openers – Ruturaj Gaikward and Fad du Plessis. Both of them are in the top-4 of the highest-run scorers this year and average 62.60 and 46.38 respectively that too at a healthy strike rate. They have given blazing start to CSK in the entire season which helped the team reach finals of IPL 2021.

Also Read: Which are the Top-4 Teams to Qualify for Playoff Stages of IPL 2021?

  • Middle Order – KL Rahul, Maxwell & Rayudu

With 626 runs from 13 games, KL Rahul just has to be in your team. He has led the Punjab franchise from the front and often played under the pressure of not having many quality batsmen to follow. In the last game against CSK, Rahul came into his own and showed all of us that he is a great striker of the ball.

Maxwell has recorded his best season so far in the IPL. He scored 6 half centuries in this year’s tournament and almost single-handedly helped RCB reach into the final four. By scoring close to 500 runs that too at an average of 42.08, Maxwell has been a key figure in the middle order for his side.

Middle Order – KL Rahul, Maxwell & Rayudu

Surprisingly, Ambati Rayudu too makes our side. Yes, there have been many others who scored more runs than he has but none of them have scored consistently at a strike rate that matches his scoring rate at the key number five spot. With a blistering strike rate of 151.18, Rayudu has ensured that CSK have accelerated at the right time.

  • Lower-Middle Order – Jadeja & Pollard

When your team has power hitters like Jadeja & Pollard you are ensured that your team will get a wonderful finish in each innings. Kieron Pollard may not have had a good IPL by his own standards yet, he managed to score at a strike rate of 148.48. His flamboyant knock against CSK was an example of what he is capable of achieving. He can roll his arm over too for 2-3 overs if needed.

Sir Ravindra Jadeja has been in the form of his life with the bat. Every time he walked out, he made sure to give his side powerful finish by scoring those 15-20 extra runs. His 37-run last over heroics against RCB was a treat to watch for batting lovers as he kept hitting the ball out of the park. His bowling spells have been economical and has often produced important break-troughs for CSK.

Lower-Middle Order – Jadeja & Pollard

  • Spinner(s) – Rashid Khan

Another name that has performed well year after years has been Rashid Khan. His side may have failed to do well but he has lived up to the expectation. He took 18 scalps at an average of 20.83 to be ranked as the best spinner in terms of wicket taken in the 14th edition of the Indian Premier League.

  • Fast-Bowlers – Avesh, Harshal & Bumrah

The pace troika of Avesh, Harshal and Bumrah form a formidable fast bowling attack that can rattle out opposition with pace as well as with variations and accuracy. Harshal, Avesh and Bumrah are in the top-3, in list of most wickets taken this season. Harshal has bagged 32 wickets, the joint highest for any bowler in the history of IPL. Avesh and Bumrah have 23 and 21 wickets respectively in their kitty.

Fast-Bowlers – Avesh, Harshal & Bumrah

While most wickets for Harshal have come in the death, Avesh and Bumrah too have done well at the death but have taken wickets at other key phase of the matches too. When you have three Indian pacers in the IPL Team of the Tournament, it means that Indian fast bowlers have beaten their foreign counterparts and have lit up the tournament with their nagging line, length and stamina.

Extras: Simron Hetmeyer, Yuzvendra Chahal & Mohammed Shami

(Note: All Stats showcased are of the match before Qualifier 2 between DC & KKR)

Neel Visaria
Neel Visaria
Health and Fitness

Neel is an expert blogger who just loves writing about health and fitness. He makes sure that his blogs are fun to read but also informative. Neel is committed to spread awareness through his blogs... Read More

Featured in

Featured Featured Featured Featured Featured Featured Featured Featured Featured Featured Featured Featured Featured Featured Featured


Free Nationwide Shipping and Returns on Orders above Rs. 1250/-

Customer Service


Available Monday - Saturday
From 9:30AM - 6:30PM


Your Payment Information is Processed Securely

Contact us


[email protected]