India vs New Zealand WTC Final: Predictions, Squads, Fixtures, & All you need to know - Fast&Up

India vs New Zealand WTC Final: Predictions, Squads, Fixtures, & All you need to know

Cricket’s most important and biggest contest is schedule for June 18, 2021. The entire cricketing circuit will be turning their heads towards Southampton, where India will take on New Zealand in the summit clash of the World Test Championship (WTC). Both these outstanding teams will enter the WTC final on the back of a stupendous run in Test cricket in recent times.

While Kane Williamson and team have won each of the last six Test matches that they have played, the Men in Blue has won four out of the last five Test matches that they have played too. Perhaps, New Zealand has won three out of their last four Test matches by an innings, while Virat and company too tasted victory against England by an innings and 25 runs on the previous encounter they had in whites.

World’s two best of the best cricket teams- India and New Zealand will be led by two modern era legends. While Williamson, known as the backbone of the New Zealand batting lineup and has amassed 7115 runs in Test cricket at an average of 54.31, which includes 24 centuries, Whereas, Virat Kohli has mounted 7490 runs in the whites at an average of 52.38, including 27 centuries.

With eye-drooling numbers, the cricketing world awaits one of the biggest contest within few days. It will be interesting to see whether Williamson’s calmness prevails or Virat Kohli’s aggression dominated cricket.

World Test Championship Final Squads

India Squad for WTC Final & England Test Series

India has named a massive 24-member squad for the WTC final, including 4 ‘standby’ players. While Virat Kohli will lead the Indian side, Ajinkya Rahane will be his deputy.

Virat Kohli (Captain), Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), R. Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed. Shami, Mohammed. Siraj, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav, KL Rahul (subject to fitness clearance), Wriddhiman Saha (wicket keeper; subject to fitness clearance).

Standby players: Abhimanyu Easwaran, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan, Arzan Nagwaswalla

New Zealand Squad for WTC Final

New Zealand has named a 20-member squad for the WTC final. Kane Williamson will lead the New Zealand team. In addition, BJ Watling will don the wicket-keeping duties for the Kiwi side.

Kane Williamson (C), Tom Blundell, Trent Boult, Tim Southee, Doug Bracewell, Devon Conway, Colin de Grandhomme, Jacob Duffy, Matt Henry, Kyle Jamieson, Tom Latham, Daryll Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Ajaz Patel, Rachin Ravindra, Mitchell Santner, Ross Taylor, Neil Wagner, BJ Watling (WK), Will Young.

Schedule and Venue for WTC Final

The World Test Championship (WTC) final between India and New Zealand will be held from 18 June to 22nd June 2021. The WTC final will be witnessed at Southampton.

As we march towards an interesting cricket battle, let us not forget the important role of nutrition, which will play a key role for the team’s performance. Visit to know more information on sports nutrition. 

Shaista Khan

-Expert and Writer

Disclaimer: Fast&Up Products are all FSSAI approved and are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. Please read product packaging carefully prior to purchase and use. The results from the products will vary from person to person. The information/articles  on Fast&Up ( or subdomains)  is provided for informational purpose only and is not meant to substitute for the advice provided by your doctor or other healthcare professionals.